We use our own and third-party cookies to optimize your experience on this site, including to maintain user sessions. Without these cookies our site will not function well. If you continue browsing our site we take that to mean that you understand and accept how we use the cookies. If you wish to decline our cookies we will redirect you to Google.
Already have an account? Sign in.

 Remember Me | Forgot Your Password?

Many Beers, Including “Gluten Free” Brands, Contain A Barley-Derived Gluten

December 21, 2011: 12:00 AM EST
Australian researchers report that most of the 60 brands of beer they tested, including some marketed as “low-gluten”, contain enough of a gluten known as hordein to cause symptoms associated with celiac disease. Eight of the beers labeled “gluten free” did not contain gluten, but two “gluten free” brands contained as much gluten as regular beer. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder caused by exposure to gluten, a protein found in foods and beverages made from barley, wheat and rye. Symptoms include constipation, diarrhea, abdominal pain, etc.  The only treatment is to follow a gluten free diet. Hordein is the gluten component found in barley-based beers.
Michelle L. Colgrave et al., "What is in a Beer? Proteomic Characterization and Relative Quantification of Hordein (Gluten) in Beer", Journal of Proteome Research, December 21, 2011, © American Chemical Society
Diet Insights
Diet Research & Advice
Research, Studies, Advice
Developed by Yuri Ingultsov Software Lab.